Real Property Tax Credit 
In 2023, the West Virginia Legislature passed the Disabled Veteran Real Property Tax Credit. Taxpayers are eligible to claim this credit beginning January 1, 2024 however, the first opportunity to use the credit is on the 2024 WV income tax return, which is filed in 2025.

This tax credit can be claimed by honorably discharged Disabled Veteran homeowners from any branch of the U.S. Armed Services who have a 90-100% Combined Disability Rating from thefederal Department Veteran Affairs. To ensure eligibility, the homestead exemption form must be filed with the County Assessor in a timely manner (for individuals, this is before October 1.) Additionally, real property taxes need to be paid in a timely manner, with the first half of the assessment paid before October 1 and the second half before April 1.  If a veteran owns several properties within West Virginia, the credit is only applied to the property where they primarily live. 

This Credit will replace the existing $20,000 property tax exemption. ​​Get more information here.

​Homestead Exemption
Veteras rated100 percent permanent and totally disabled by the federal Department of Veterans Affairs may be exempt from certain property taxes. Details are available in West Virginia State Code §​11-6B​. 
Veterans who believe they qualify should contact their County Assessors' Office or their local Department of Veterans Assistance benefits office.

​Veteran License Plates
Special license plates and disabled veteran tags are provided without fee to veterans who qualify for federal Department of Veterans Affairs auto grant benefits or who have a 100 percent permanent and total service-connected disability rating from the federal VA. Former POWs, Purple Heart recipients, and Pearl Harbor survivors are also eligible for special license plates without fee. 

Veterans plates are available to all other honorably discharged veterans for a one-time fee of $10 over and above the regular license fee required by the state Division of Motor Vehicles. More information is available in West Virginia State Code §​17A-3-14. Applications are available on the DMV military plates page​. Interested Veterans should contact their local DMV office.​

Veteran Hunting & Fishing License
Resident veterans who qualify for federal VA auto grant benefits, have a 100 percent permanent and total disability rating with the federal VA, or who have been a POW with an may qualify for free West Virginia hunting and fishing licenses. You can find a printable application on the Division of Natural Resources' website​
Service members who are on active duty in the United States Armed Forces, while on leave or furlough, are permitted to hunt, fish, and trap without a license. Leave or furlough papers shall serve in lieu of any required licenses. More information is available in West Virginia State Code §​​20-2-28. ​


West Virginia State Parks "Veterans' Salute"

Veterans and active duty military persaonnel are provided a year-round 10 percent discount on all standard lodge rooms, cabins, and campsites operated by West Virginia State Parks. Additional discouints and offers for veterans and military members are available seasonally.​ For more information, see the West Virginia State Parks' website​.​

Military Incentive Program

The West Virginia Military Incentive Credit encourages employers to hire veterans and members of the Guard and Reserve in the private sector by providing tax credits to qualified businesses that employ econically disadvantaged veterans and unemployed members of the West Virginia National Guard and United States Reserve forces. Additional information is available in West Virginia State Code §​21A-2C and through WorkForce WV​